

First Annual Report EUFASD Alliance

Covering part of the year 2011 and the year 2012

Foundation of the Alliance and activities in 2011

The desire to create a forum where European NGOs and researchers involved with FASD could meet has grown over the past years. In November 2010, the First European Conference on FASD¹ was organized in Kerkrade, the Netherlands, by the FAS Foundation of the Netherlands. This conference attracted 160 attendees from 23 countries around the world, and was associated with a satellite meeting organized by the World Health Organization to plan international screening programs for FASD. This First European Conference on FASD was the spark to create the EUFASD Alliance.

On Feb. 17, 2011, a Skype conference was held with various persons interested in founding the Alliance. This was the first General Assembly². At this meeting, the Statutes were approved, and the first board was elected.³ The EUFASD Alliance is officially registered in Landskrona, Sweden.

During the year 2011, a website was created, and the first of bi-weekly newsletters were sent out to a mailing list of approximately 500 e-mail addresses. The first members were accepted, and plans went ahead for the 2nd EUFASD conference, planned for Barcelona.

Activities in 2012

The Second European Conference on FASD was held from October 22 to 25, 2012, in Barcelona. ⁴ This conference attracted over 200 attendees from 25 countries. During the Business Meeting of the General Assembly, the Board was unanimously re-elected for another term of two years, with the addition of Philippa Williams.

At the end of 2012, the membership list included nine official member organizations from seven countries. The e-mailing list was stable at just under 500 addresses.

¹ Program and abstracts at http://eufasd.org/pdf/eufasd1 program book.pdf.

² Participants were Giorgie Petković, Lauri Beekmann, Martha Krijgsheld, Simona Pichini, Jacek Przybylo, Malgorzata Klecka, Susan Fleisher, Katarina Wittgard, Marlene Boman, Oscar Garcia-Algar, Veerle Moubax, Diane Black.

³ The first Board consisted of the following: Diane Black (Chair), Katarina Wittgard, Susan Fleisher, Giorgie Petković, Oscar Garcia-Algar, Simona Pichini, Thierry Maillard.

⁴ Report of the 2nd EUFASD Conference at http://eufasd.org/pdf/eufasd2report.pdf.